Another One Way Ticket

Been so long since I posted anything on this poor excuse for a blog. Singapore life has been hectic, fast paced and busy.

That’s all about to change.

I’m retiring in May and, after a few weeks back home visiting my kids, I’m off to Cambodia. Been there twice in the last 3 months and I think I’m going to like it there.

Over the last 2 years I have been researching and investigating many different places that have large expat communities. The Philippines, Ecuador, Costa Rica, Panama, Thailand and Bali to name a few. All have there advantages and disadvantages. One big disadvantage is they all have requirements. Deposit a certain amount in the bank and leave it there. Prove monthly income of a certain level. Provide results of a health screening. Provide a police report. Etc, etc, etc.

Cambodia requires none of that. Phnom Penh is a booming, bustling city and is obviously doing everything it can to attract expats and their money. It will cost me about $270 a year for visa renewal and that’s it. My expected cost of living, including everything, in a two bedroom two bath serviced apartment, should be about 1,200 per month.

I’m just starting the process of setting up my Social Security. That’s interesting as I don’t deal with SSA in the US. Any Americans living in Asia go through the SSA office in Manila.

Anyone interested in the process or how to really get free of the US, its taxes, etc. just let me know.

Got a one way ticket when I moved to Singapore. Gonna be getting another one soon.

Explore posts in the same categories: Common Sense, hope, Travel

Leave a comment