Revisiting the Heartlands

cimg1298After 5 1/2 years in Singapore, I finally went back to the US during the holidays. It was wonderful to see my kids and grandkids again and I spent every available second with them. I went earlier than expected because my daughter had been diagnosed with thyroid cancer. Ouch! But she’s had all the nasty junk removed from her throat and it looks like she’s gonna be ok.

I was surprised how comfortable I felt in my hometown after so long. Some things had changed but some remain the same. I drove a car for the first time since I left in 2003 and, like riding a bicycle, it came back to me immediately.

I met a lot of my daughter’s friends who have supported her and helped her immensely during her illness and the moods that brought. I am profoundly grateful to all of them. I guess the only thing better than a home where people love you is two homes where they do.

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Family

6 Comments on “Revisiting the Heartlands”

  1. buffalo Says:

    Good looking family!

  2. Bob R. Says:

    Hope your daughter has a speedy recovery. I’m sure it meant a lot to her to have you visit–and it must be nice to see the whole family. It’s amazing how you can leave for so long and then slip right back into the hometown. It’s like a time warp. I’ve traveled some, and there are times I feel I’ve changed, but the old places remain the same. Happy holidays!

  3. Libby Says:

    Happy New Year Brian and what a great photo. Wishing your daughter a speedy recovery.

  4. Capt Fogg Says:

    You really do have a good looking family! Best wishes to all of you for a healthy new year.

  5. (O)CT(O)PUS Says:

    Blessings to you and your lovely family, and best wishes to your daughter for a successful outcome. Welcome home!

  6. joseph Says:

    Brian, that is a very warm family picture. I can see all family there love you so much and I believe you cherish every moment there. My prayer to your daughter , she is young and she will have a speedy recovery !


Leave a Reply

