The times they are a changin’

Obama is in, the murdering, traitorous criminal is out. McCain is trying to regain a little respect and Palin….god, what a joke….is really thinking she still has a chance after showing the world what a moron she is. Oh well.

I’m feeling a little bit of hope for the first time in a long time.

I’m turning 60 today. I really don’t want to spend anymore days or weeks or years talking here to a very limited few about politics and the world’s woes. I don’t enjoy it anymore.

Instead, I’m going to post what I like to post the most. Good old music. So if you’re looking for some commentary on the zealot, Mugabe or the latest nightmare in Iraq, you best go somewhere else. Here, I’m gonna stick to music. I know, it’s only rock n’ roll. But I like it.

I  also thought it might be fun to post a little memorabilia of those same days. Anyone remember what a 66 GTO sounded like?

schoening66gto1

I couldn’t afford anything like that so for a while anyway, I scooted around on one of these.

hon501

Yup, the Honda 50 Sport. Very popular. Remember when the Honda 250 was the baddest bike around?

I didn’t drive for nearly 3 years while in the army, but when I got home my very conservative father had bought one of these for me to tool around in. My mom told me later, it  was just for me.

1968-firebird

It had the big  400 cc engine and looked just like this. On the stretch of Highway  17 straightaway coming down from Santa Cruz to Scotts Valley, I had it up to 140. I’m not a car nut, but that was special. Thanks, Dad.

There were lots of great cars back then to go with the great music. What was yours?

Explore posts in the same categories: Just For Fun, When Life Was Good

4 Comments on “The times they are a changin’”

  1. Buffalo Says:

    Happy Birthday, brother.

    Honda built some good bikes – they still do. The 305 Honda Dream, along with the advertising campaign, is what started motorcycles on the road to respectibility.

    Triumph, BSA, Norton, BMW, Moto Guzi, and of course, Harley, all made great bikes. The Brits main problem was their electical. Ditto with the Harley Sportster. Crap electical by the price of darkness, Lucas.

  2. joseph Says:

    Happy Birthday to you! God bless you and all yrs family !

  3. Capt Fogg Says:

    I bought my first bike in ’66. A Honda 160 Scrambler – at least I thought it was a bike at the time. I still have my ’57 Triumph TRW and since nobody wants to give me real money, I’m planning to donate it to a local museum.

    Anyway, turning 60 is a shock to the system. I remember it well, but of course I was a lot better off three years ago than I am now. Life can be a bitch, but of course it’s the only thing there is.

  4. rockync Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Brian!

    Had a boyfriend with a GTO — oh, my, the stories that back seat coupd tell! 🙂


Leave a Reply

