R.I.P. Paul Newman – An additional thought

Paul was 83 when he died. He had an enormously successful career playing some of the most memorable characters in Hollywood history. Just as important though, he was a gracious and generous man and a man committed to a long lasting (very rare in Tinsletown) marriage.

Because of his success in the entertainment industy, Newman was also able to afford his dreams when it came to car racing and philanthropy. 83 years is a pretty long life, and it seems he had a rich and fulfilling one.

In contrast, the unpublicized 23 American young people who were killed in Iraq in the month of September did not have a long lasting or fulfilling life. They might have, had they lived, but they didn’t. Nor did the 23 killed in August or the 19 killed in July or the 29 killed in June.

We don’t know their names, or their family histories, or their talents, or their dreams or anything else about them. It didn’t get any press except in the towns that they used to call home. They were all young and we will never have a chance to know if they might have become famous, rich, philanthropic or exceptional. Because, just like Paul Newman, they are dead.

In a couple of days, it will be October. Thirty one days later, it will be November. During that month, if history is any measure, another 20 to 30 Americans will be killed in the Iraq war – the one that the American people don’t want but refuse to do anything about. Their deaths, like the 4000+ who came before them, are blood on your frightened, ignorant and idle hands.

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Bush/Cheney, Indecency, Iraq, Politics, veterans

4 Comments on “R.I.P. Paul Newman – An additional thought”

  1. Mockingbird Says:

    Farewell to the Fabulour Hudson Hornet.

  2. IMI Says:

    I’m sorry to say that I can’t be sad for the rich and famous or celebrities anymore. I’ve seen too many suffer or die needlessly, that were truly great people. I’m not talking about over in Iraq or anywhere else but the U.S.

    I’ve spent the last 4 years begging for funds for cancer treatment. My sister-in-law had to do the same earlier. We both had insurance. I listened to horror stories from young and healthy, treatable people with families, business’ that were going to just be left to die. Parents and grandparents were mortgaging homes, you name it. In the figures of uninsured, it’s not reported inadequate insurance. Even if insurance was adequate, there’s no due process to enforce it anymore.

    That’s just one element. Every major city has several tent cities and people living in cardboard boxes. The list goes on and on.

    I’m 50. I probably don’t have a chance to reach 80 largely because I’m not rich and famous or wealthy. Those have become the only ones who have a chance to retire, have a hobby, put their feet up and enjoy reasonable health care.

    I see no reason to fund any more medical research if most people can’t afford what’s already known (American Cancer Society position). How can anyone be considered a philanthropist wearing $100 jeans with so much needless suffering in the U.S.?

    I know that sounds extreme, but I’ve seen too much. We’ve become a third world country. Just because it’s unreported doesn’t mean people can’t look outside of their car windows once in awhile on their way to the shopping mall and see what’s going on.

  3. Brian Says:

    I don’t fawn over the rich and famous either, but I do feel sad when one dies who has given me and many a lot of pleasure with their performances and their art. Newman had a long, fulfilling life, but others, like Joplin, Hendrix, Lennon, Elvis and many more died young after giving us hours of enjoyment and fun.

    I’m neither rich nor retired, though I hope to retire soon. I never could have made it if I stayed in the US but in Asia, I can retire on just my SS and be fine. As far as health care, I agree with you. I have no insurance but can fall back on my veterans benefits if I have to, although even those are getting harder to make use of. Last point, even those who are poor in the US have it better than most folks around the world so I find it hard to complain. I just keep on keeping on.

  4. coffee fiend Says:

    Paul Newman is a legend for his work in movies, and he’s a stud for all his work outside of movies


Leave a Reply

