That Old Time Rock ‘n Roll

To set this scene, I’m sitting on my bed, laptop on my breakfast-in-bed tray, wireless card firmly installed, fan going, a rare (and becoming rarer) martini within easy reach. I’m doing a little research for a nice post or posts on some of the great ‘girl groups’ that preceded and certainly influenced the Beatles era and future R&R. (and I’m still gonna do that)

I’m on YouTube checking out the Chiffons, the Shirelles, The Rondells, Gladys Knight, etc. And then I run across this gem and, having been one of America’s and my favorites at the time, I just had to post this up right now. It’s not just the group. It’s the great host and the “mysterious” Brando like motorcycle rider. This went to No. 1. And if your my age, you know the words.


At the time they were considered (and publicized as)bad girls who were a little racy. The lead singer, Mary Weiss was 16 at the time of this performance.

Explore posts in the same categories: Just For Fun, Music

5 Comments on “That Old Time Rock ‘n Roll”

  1. Buffalo Says:

    Looked like Bob Crane on the bike and the bike looked to be a 305 Honda Dream. Can’t be sure as the picture is too damned small for these old eyes.

    Back in the day I didn’t have access to fan magazines or television. I didn’t realize they were white girls.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    It’s Robert Goulet, then of Camelot fame, on the Steve Allen show. That bike looks too small to be 300cc…looks more like around 125cc to me.

  3. Buffalo Says:

    I’ll buy Goulet. It was a toss up between him and Crane. Could be a smaller engine. Just couldn’t see it well enough. I was going by the gas tank. The way the shadows washed across it made it look like the dream design.

  4. expatbrian Says:

    Well, I have to admit, you gave me a chuckle. I just realized that the reason you thought this was Bob Crane was the hat. It looks very similar to what Crane wore in Hogans Heroes.

    I have a feeling that, for this sketch, they were trying to make Goulet look like Brando in The Wild One, where he wore a hat like is shown.

  5. Bob Rini Says:

    Nice clip of the girls and “the wild one.” It reminds me of the time Elvis sang “Hound Dog” to a basset hound on the Steve Allen Show.


Leave a Reply

