Philadelphia, City of Brotherly Love?

Or City of Hate and Murderguns.jpg

At the risk of sounding macabre, I am amused by this story out of Philadelphia. While Americans are huddling in fear of unseen “Muslim terrorists” and are being brainwashed into believing that as long as they send their young troops to be blown apart in Iraq, the fight will be there and not at home, while they suck up the bullshit that Bush is keeping them safe, they are actually slaughtering each other in their own neighborhoods and city streets much faster than al Quaeda could ever hope to.

The city(Philadelphia)  of 1.4 million people had 392 homicides in 2007, down slightly from a nine-year high of 406 in 2006. That high rate, fueled by drugs, poverty, and the easy availability of guns, has led civic and community leaders to repeatedly call for an end to the killings.

Now, I haven’t researched it, but I think the total number of killings by “Muslim terrorists” in Philadelphia in 2007 was ZERO and that was neither up nor down from the 2006 total of ZERO. 

Police plan to put 200 more officers on the streets, boost the number of surveillance cameras to 250 from the current 26, and apply a “stop and frisk” strategy targeting people suspected of carrying illegal guns.

In other words, all black males between the ages of 12 and 65.   

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Americans, with their sickeningly liberal gun laws, create their own terrorism every day in every city in their country. And folks, your president, that jerk who says his illegal war is “protecting you from terrorists” does nothing about it.  The national stats and comparison to al Quaeda for 2006 are here.

Final note. For comparison sake, in my city, indeed in my country,  which has THREE TIMES THE POPULATION of Philly, there were 18 murders in 2007. And every one of them was solved.

Keep your guns. Murder each other. Leaves more for the rest of us.

UPDATE

I just finished the story above and saw this one. Also out of Pennsylvania.

A woman’s body was cut into pieces and dumped along lengthy stretches of two busy highways in eastern Pennsylvania, police say.

Jesus!

The Morning Call says highway workers reported discovering a bag of body parts yesterday morning on Interstate 380 in the Poconos.

State police then found a severed head. Over the next few hours, they recovered six more bags of body parts, some on Interstate 80. “There’s still quite a bit (of the body) missing,” said police.

And you’re worried about foreign terrorists????? Hell, I live 40 miles from the largest population of Muslims in the world and I’m afraid to come to the US!

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Crime, Life in the Big City, Terrorism

6 Comments on “Philadelphia, City of Brotherly Love?”

  1. Buffalo Says:

    I absolutely and completely disagree with your contention that “liberal” gun laws promote or are responsible for gun deaths. In the vast majority of gun deaths the weapon is in the hand of a criminal that did not obtain the weapon legally.

    Canada has gun laws that are anything but liberal and yet they have a significant number of murders each year – most committed with a bladed weapon, not a hand gun.

    Just for the hell of it I crunched the numbers on the gun deaths in Philly. 392 gun deaths in a population of 1.4 million comes out to be .00028. I’ll wager the number of vehicular deaths exceed the gun deaths.

    The idea of cameras on the streets is almost as appalling than the concept of stopping someone and tossing them to see if they might be carrying a weapon. If that isn’t unconstitutional I don’t know what is – and if it is tested in the Supreme Court it would probably be declared constitutional. The government seems single minded in their effort to enslave America.

    I certainly agree that the engagement in Iraq is not about protecting us from terrorists and never has been. It is absolute bullshit.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    I fully expected you to disagree, Buff and if guns could only end up in the hands of law abiding citizens, I would not be opposed to them. But that doesn’t and won’t happen as long as they are readily available in gun stores, gun shows, over the internet and in the black market. Also, owning rifles and hunting guns is one thing. Having to legislate assault weapons within a society is quite another.
    You can manipulate the numbers any way you want but the bottom line is the US is a violent, gun saturated society and until something is done to control the guns, its not going to get any better. I’m staying right where I am. I’d rather take my chances with the Muslims.

  3. Buffalo Says:

    I fully realize that debate on certain topics, (abortion, gun control, euthanasia, to mention a few), is futile. Since I am often wont to tilt windmills …

    I don’t believe I manipulated any numbers. I simply did the math. The number of gun deaths in Philly sounds staggering. Yet when you do the numbers, not play with them, you realize the figure represents a relatively insignificant part of the total population.
    I suspect the majority of those deaths were the result of gang violence.

    The problem with restrictive gun laws, other than infringing on the right of a person to defend his or her self, is that they take the guns only from the hands of the honest, or relatively honest, individual. Criminals aren’t going to surrender their weapons.

    Prohibition didn’t work. The “War on Drugs” is a freakin’ joke. Stopping prostitution and gambling has never worked. All any of it does is cost money for the tax payer and raise the costs to the consumer. In other words criminals will get weapons. Hell, automatic and semi automatic weapons aren’t that difficult to make in a moderately well equipped machine shop.

    My wife and I traveled 13,000 plus miles on my Harley in 06 staying mostly in campgrounds. We never had one single problem. People left hundreds, and sometimes thousands, of dollars worth of equipment unlocked and untended in the camp ground. No thefts. No robberies. No assualts. We didn’t have a hint of problems of any nature other than mechanical anywhere we went.

    After the trip we talked to a younger fellow that had made a similar, but shorter trip. He stayed in motels because he “knew” campgrounds were dangerous.

  4. expatbrian Says:

    I didn’t mean to suggest that you manipulated the numbers in some sneaky way, only that by “doing the math” it appears to be insignificant. And therein lies the problem, Buff. How immune is the society, how absolutely numb to serious crime, when you can say that 400 people being killed IN JUST ONE CITY, in a year is insignificant?

    We are so used to hearing about and reading about murder, gang related, domestic dispute, during other crimes, etc. that we are completely BORED with it. And of course we watch it on TV and in the movies constantly. Murder and other crimes have become ho hum, and are only really “significant” to the victims and their families.

    I fully understand what you say about only honest people would have to give up their guns. I agree 100%. I didn’t mean to suggest that the US could become gun free and safe. It is way too far gone for that to ever happen. The US, with its 9 guns for every 10 people is a violent, crime ridden society and it’s getting worse. Not just gang kids are involved now, but white middle class kids too.

    I lived in San Jose, a fairly safe city of about 850k. I personally witnessed two murders there, both perps and victims were minors, one a latino gang shoot and one a vietnamese gang shoot. And I’m just one guy.

    Living now, as I do, in a completely different kind of societal atmosphere, where crime is UNACCEPTABLE, perps are dealt with sternly, there are no guns and drugs are nearly non existent, my numbness is going away and I realize with horror just how bad the situation in the US is. And the criminal justice system, which I will be posting on in the future, is a joke.

    Life is sweet when you can have a good, friendly debate. 🙂

  5. Capt Fogg Says:

    I’m willing to bet that poisonings, stabbings and stranglings are less in Singapore too. I think that speaks to demographics more than to gun laws. We have a scofflaw culture and we have gangs and angry, alcoholic, uneducated people living in squalor.
    Nobody drives less than 20 over the speed limit here either. Taking away cars isn’t the answer.

    I’m always surprised to hear about the easy availability of Guns. To buy one legally at a gun shop is harder than you think. It’s private sales that are hard to regulate and illegal guns are much easier than legal guns. Stopping things that are already illegal requires enforcement, not more laws making illegal things illegal again. I think the strongest correlation between shootings and other statistics is the correlation with gang activity. Even back when you could legally buy a machine gut without a permit it was the end of prohibition, not the rise of gun laws that made homicides drop. Perhaps if we concentrated on putting violent people into the jail cells now occupied by people caught smoking dope, we would have a better country? Just a thought.

    Yes, I can walk into a gun shop here and come home with a shiny new shotgun, but then I had to pass a proficiency test, undergo a lengthy background check and have my fingerprints on file with the FBI. Others have to wait three days for a background check with the police before picking up a purchase. Some states like Illinois require one to have a license to buy any firearm or ammunition, even at a gun show. That was passed many years ago and it had no effect on crime.

    Northern cities have much more restrictive laws – and higher crime rates to go with them. An awful lot of Floridians have concealed carry permits and the murder rates continue to creep downwards everywhere but in the gang infested areas of Palm Beach county. The gangsters here are often illegal themselves and aren’t about to obey any laws. They aren’t buying their automatic weapons in the US anyway. Hundreds of boats come in and out of the St Lucie inlet every day – there is no customs checkpoint.

    As for the bloodbath the Brady people so flamboyantly predicted when carry permits were allowed in 1987, the gun crime rate has declined nearly every year since then. Interestingly, a similar bloodbath failed to occur when the national speed limit was peeled away. I’ve read government statistics that show that only about one hundredth of a percent of gun crimes in Florida are committed by those with permits. Living where I do, lightening, sharks, alligators and soccer moms in Hummers pose a vastly higher risk.

    As for my personal perspective, in my 63 years, I have never known anyone who was murdered by a firearm, other than the friends i lost in Viet Nam. I know six killed in cars, one by terrorists on 9/11 and one murdered in his kitchen with a knife – and he was a drug smuggler. I’ve been in the worst places in Chicago at the worst times and the only one who has ever pointed a weapon at me was a Chicago cop.

    I own a few guns because I like to go shoot 22 pistols at targets with my wife, because we have had problems with looters after three hurricanes, because a 911 call can take half an hour to wake up the police and because piracy not only persists in the Caribbean, it’s on the increase.

  6. expatbrian Says:

    All great points Cap’n and all well said. I suppose my take is simply an emotional one. I was very much into guns when in Vietnam, carried a few different handguns (including a CO2 BB pistol to kill rats!) and got very “comfortable” being armed. When I got home I felt naked without one and went right out and bought a 22 revolver. Carried it everywhere.
    That gun was eventually stolen in a burglary and I made a decision then never to replace it, as I had become more and more repulsed by killing of any kind.

    I don’t have any answers. Perhaps, in a country like the US with its sheer size and racial diversity and economic diversity, there is no answer or solution. And therein lies the shame of it all. It’s only going to get worse because it is so totally out of control.
    The 2007 FBI crime stats will be out soon. I always post on those and we shall talk more about this then.


Leave a Reply

