Chinese New Year number 4,706

I’m just not going to worry today. It’s a special time and so just for today, I’m going to put aside all of the bad news. I’m not going to even think about all of the problems that we usually write about here.

I’m not going to think about the president of Interpol getting charged with corruption or the sleazebag rapist Jacob Zuma being voted in as President of South Africa’s ruling party.

 I’m not going to give a second thought to the bloody nightmares that are Sudan, Kenya, Somalia or Burma. I’m not going to worry about the tens of thousands left homeless in Mozambique or the election fraud in Zimbabwe.

I’m going to take a break from the murderous and illegal bloodbath that we have brought to Iraq and that forgotten little spat in Afghanistan. 

I’m going to clear my mind of the neverending insanity that is the Israeli/Palastinian fiasco and Bush’s last, gasping, desperate attempt at legitimacy by trying to insert himself into a “settlement agreement” between them before we are finally rid of his lying ass.

Just for today, I’m not going to give a thought to the worldwide AIDS crisis, Bush’s just plain stupid ‘”abstinence only” policy or his equally stupid “no child left behind” policy. I’m going to put aside my regret that his hallowed abstinence was not practiced by his mother.

I’m going to tune out on the blossoming Amerikan police state and the stripping away of our constitutional rights, all in the name of protecting us from terrorists while we continue to murder, assault, rape and rob each other by the millions each year. Gonna take a day off on thoughts of mothers who let their 4 kids decompose in the bedroom or fathers who throw their 4 kids off a bridge.

I’m not even going to worry about the crumbling American economy, the weak and still weakening dollar, the millions upon millions of us who barely make it paycheck to paycheck or the obscenely rich who squeeze every last ounce of labor out of us while they steal more and more of our pay.

I’m not going to think about which congressman or woman is on the take, which is digging the deepest into my already empty pockets, which will apologize the loudest when they eliminate my job, take away my health insurance, forclose on my house or kill my kids, or which one is molesting a minor, paying a prostitute or sucking a stranger’s dick in a public restroom.

And finally, just for today, I’m not going to think about the absurdity that is the US election campaigns, the corrupt system of financing them or the large group of liars that we have to chose from, which of them has the best hairdo or the best God or which is going to save us from ourselves “better” than the rest. Just for today, fuck them all, each and every one.

Why am I giving up on all the important stuff today? Because CHINESE NEW YEAR IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER! (hope that wasn’t a letdown)

Yes, Chinese New Year. One of my favorite times of the year. I know there are celebrations in major cities in the US and UK. I even remember going to one in San Francisco’s Chinatown so many years ago. But there is nothing quite like Chinese New Year in Asia itself. It’s wild, it’s loud, it’s vibrant, it’s delicious.

This Chinese year, 4706 is the Year of the Rat. (I am the year of the rat and Pearl is the year of the snake. I let her nibble whenever she wants.)

While the festivities don’t officially kick off until February 7th, here in Singapore the hustle and bustle has already begun. The beautiful lights and huge, colorful decorations that line the streets are going up, the stall keepers are breaking out the lanterns of red and gold, the markets are gearing up for the tourists and the incredible fireworks displays are being planned. Being on the 17th floor with an unobstructed view of Chinatown just a few blocks away, we will watch these from our windows as we do each year. It will be marvelous.

We will meet old friends, eat too much, drink a little and gamble some, too.

Here’s a few shots of what it looks like.

cny1.jpg

The crowd shows up for the lighting celebration

cny2.jpg

Decoration shop

cny3.jpg

cny4.jpg

Dragons, dragons everywhere

cny5.jpg

The Dragon Dance

cny6.jpg

The night market

cny7.jpg

cny8.jpg

cny9.jpg

A sausage stall

cny10.jpg

A pomelo stall, mmmm….

cny111.jpg

Wonderful Temple St. in Chinatown

cny13.jpg

Fireworks over the harbor

By the time the festival ends on February 15th, there will be a whole new set of crises to worry about, I’m sure. A few more American soldiers will be dead and a whole lot of Iraqis. Bush will have told a few more lies, offended a few more countries and dismantled a few more critical social programs to pay for his bloodbath while America watches Hero on TV. In other words, I doubt that I will miss much. Catch you on the rebound.

Explore posts in the same categories: Just For Fun, Singapore

6 Comments on “Chinese New Year number 4,706”

  1. Capt Fogg Says:

    Fantastic photos! I just watched Anthony Bourdain’s travel channel episode about Singapore and I get hungry thinking about it.

    I plan to annoy my neighbors with some fireworks – perfectly legal where I live – and of course indulge in a day of gluttony.

  2. Buffalo Says:

    If it weren’t for the Nam would we be so cynical?

  3. abi Says:

    I’m glad someone’s having a good time. All we Americans have to “entertain” us this month are the primaries (depressing) and the Superbowl (I’m not a fan).

    Great pictures – thanks.

  4. Kathy Says:

    I agree with Capt. Fogg, those are fantastic pictures. If I remember correctly, the Chinese invented fireworks, didn’t they?

    Enjoy!

  5. expatbrian Says:

    I have lots of great pics from here of course but admit that I took these from the internet due to their clarity. They are all taken here in Singapore though. Fogg, yes, the food is wonderful here. With so many cultures represented, there is no lack of variety. Me, just give me some good laksa, mutton biryani, yew mee or yong tau foo and I will be your friend forever.
    Kathy, Yes, I believe they did. The fireworks are set off over the harbor here and this year, at the mouth of the bay, will be the newly completed, multi coloured High Flyer, billed as the worlds biggest ferris wheel at 45 stories tall.
    Buff, probably not but thank god we are.


Leave a Reply

