Searching for good TV

I live in Singapore and so I depend on internet downloads for good American TV shows. So much of US TV is crap that it’s really hard to find anything worth watching. Once I do find something worthwhile, I download all episodes and watch them all in a short period of time – usually 3 or 4 episodes in a night.

wire.jpgDuring the testing stage, I will download about three episodes and watch them to decide if I want to go further. I usually never make it through those three.  Anyway, I thought I would give my critique so far.

I agree with many that The Sopranos is probably the very besshield300.jpgt TV show in recent history, at least as a drama. I was sad when I watched the final episode and anxious about finding something even nearly as good.

Disappointments have been Greys Anatomy, Dexter, Las Vegas, Lost (after it got so weird with the underground bunker crap), Prison Break (the facial expressions never change) and some lesser shows.

I am watching The Wire – not the greatest but better than most. The Shield is a great show, kinda like NYPD Blue gone cable. I can’t wait for the next season to start.

But my very favorite current show is Boston Legal. William Shatner is great as the half crazy, always horny senior partner blegal.jpg( I never cared for him before), Candice Bergen is at her best, but the guy who plays Alan Shore is the show stealer. If you haven’t watched this one, you’re missing a treat. What are you watching that’s good?

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Entertainment, Just For Fun

6 Comments on “Searching for good TV”

  1. Buffalo Says:

    Boston Legal has been top drawer from the first episode on. Lost has gone down the tubes; and for the reasons you cited. Didn’t realize The Sheild was still on the air, but then I don’t have access to all the cable channels. It was a favorite though.

    Dr. Who and Torchwood are two of my favorites. Both are Brit productions. Dr. Who in particular employes some of the best writers going. I also look forward to Heroes and Jericho.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    I will try those although, with the exception of Benny Hill and Monty Python, I have not found any Brit stuff that I enjoy much. I did try a few episodes of Jericho but the sci fi nature of it turned me off. Heroes, I will give another chance.

  3. expatbrian Says:

    And by the way, The Shield is supposed to have another season starting in January. You can find out all about all the movies and TV at both the international movie data base at http://www.imdb.com, and at http://www.sharethefiles.com.

  4. Capt Fogg Says:

    I thought “the Brotherhood” on Showtime was almost as good as the Sopranos, but for some reason I can’t understand, I sort of like Dexter. Of course the books were better.

  5. Kathy Says:

    Boston Legal is my favorite show. I love their choice for defender of all that is Republican, – Denny Crain. How appropriate.

  6. Desmond Says:

    IMO, I really think that THE WIRE is probably the best thing on TV right now. It, a great show with superb writing. Season 5 will be the final season for the series. Can’t wait!!!


Leave a Reply

