For Christmas, I’m Sorry

First, a merry Christmas to all who read here. May your 2008 be peaceful, prosperous and safe. May some of your freedoms be returned to you.

I was thinking about the recent reports about the Rape of Nanjing and the refusal of the Japanese to apologize for it. I was thinking about Germany who continues to sincerely apologize for the behavior of Hitler and the Nazis. I was thinking about all of the countries led by despots who make others suffer and despair. 

I thought that, on this, our holiest day, someone should apologize to the Iraqi people for the behavior of the American government over these last 7 years and also for the apparent apathy of the American people. I’m going to be very presumptuous and do that.

I’m sorry.

I’m sorry for allowing the election, fraudulent as it was, of a president who is morally corrupt, religiously hypocritical and evil in spirit. I’m sorry that, though we could have stopped it, we inflicted him and his corrupt agenda upon the world.

I’m sorry for the slaughter of so many innocent Iraqis. I’m sorry for your suffering, your daily fear, the destruction of your cities, your hopes and your dreams. I expect that you hate us all for it. I don’t blame you. But I am sorry.

I’m sorry you had to leave your homeland and the historic land of your ancestors-those who were there before Saddam and those who would be there long after he was gone. I’m sorry for the interference in that process and for not allowing you as a people to take your own course of action as you saw fit.

I’m sorry for destroying your economy and for the poverty, hunger and despair that has been brought down upon you. I’m sorry for forcing your innocent, newly widowed mothers into prostitution and reducing your childrens’ schools to rubble.

I’m sorry that we told you to trust us, and then did not live up to your trust. I’m sorry for the hypocracy of our mission. I’m sorry that we preach human rights at the same time that we strip you of yours.

I’m sorry that we said we came to free you and instead made you prisoners in your homes. I’m sorry for the grief you feel as the death toll mounts. And I’m sorry for our failure as a nation to stop it.

I’m sorry that we said we were bringing democracy, and instead brought occupation.

I’m sorry we said you could believe in us, and then proved that you could not.

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Bush/Cheney, History, Human rights, Indecency, Iraq

7 Comments on “For Christmas, I’m Sorry”

  1. A-Dawg Says:

    but wait…why are YOU apologizing for all this? You have no culpability whatsoever…don’t you?

  2. expatbrian Says:

    Except for what I write here, I have the culpability of doing what the rest of the American people are doing. Allowing it. The only difference between me and most Americans is I am sitting on my ass in front of a computer instead of sitting on my ass in front of the TV.

  3. Buffalo Says:

    Well said, Brian.

    I do think the American People, as a whole, are absolutely helpless against the tides that are relentless destroying all that America represented since its birth two centuries plus ago. Somehow the control was given away, or taken away, and now it matters little whom we elect. The result is the same.

    For my culpability in that I do apologize.

  4. expatbrian Says:

    Sadly, I tend to agree. However, I believe there would have been a huge difference if Gore had been elected instead of Bush Cheney. The depth of the fraud that was put in place to insure Bush’s victory is evidence of that.

  5. jonolan Says:

    Brian, we did in fact free the Iraqis from Saddam’s tyranny. We just forgot – because we knew before – that this wouldn’t necessarily be a good thing 😦

  6. Kathy Says:

    Expat, wouldn’t it be nice to hear I’m sorry from the leaders responsible for this mess? That would be a real Christmas miracle.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  7. Capt Fogg Says:

    Seems wrong to be enjoying a merry anything with so much blood on our hands.

    Beautiful post.


Leave a Reply

