Personal Patriotism

tattoo1.jpgI had this tatoo done shortly after moving to Singapore. It took about 4 hours and hurt the whole time. 

But I was proud of the US, proud to be an American and I’d heard that Americans were respected and looked up to here, envied but in a good way, like in many places. I found that to be true. I wanted people to know I was from America.

That was then. This is now.

I wear sleeves. I cover the tatoo when I’m out. I don’t show it off anymore. I don’t take the chance. I hope someday I can.

Explore posts in the same categories: America, Terrorism

5 Comments on “Personal Patriotism”


  1. Jeebus but that’s depressing.
    I’m not holding my breath, but there’s a way for us to regain that stature in the eyes of the world. Impeachment, criminal proceedings, reversing all the illegalities, withdrawal from abroad and compensation, rejoining treaties. By standing up to the fascists and fixing our own house the entire globe would marvel and respect us all the more.
    Then you could flash your tat with pride.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    Agree fully, and in Harry Potter that might happen. But you and I both know that it ain’t gonna happen here. I haven’t gotten to the point of actually lying when someone asks me where I’m from, but if I fee the need to I will.

  3. Buffalo Says:

    That is an excellent tattoo.

    I hate to say it – hell, I hate to think it – I don’t see the luster being restored to the USA during my lifetime. If ever.

  4. Marty Says:

    No need to lie about it. People can tell by your accent where you’re from anyway. I hear Americans have a very distinct accent. I really wouldn’t know though. You can get that removed with a laser.

  5. expatbrian Says:

    Nope. Wont ever get it removed. I love my country. I just hate the scum that run it.


Leave a Reply

