Judge Jails entire Courtroom

judge.jpgIf there is one thing I hate (I actually hate several things and several people, most of whom reside in Wash. DC)….again, if there is one thing I hate it’s to be concentrating in a quiet place and suddenly be startled by someones cell phone ringing. Quiet restaurants, libraries and in meetings is not the place to leave your ringer on full blast.

So I was amused by this story.  Read the whole thing but here’s the money shot. In the middle of a serious domestic violence hearing, someone’s phone went off. No one would cop to it and so….

A US judge has been removed from the bench for jailing an entire courtroom audience after none of them admitted being responsible for a ringing phone.
“Every single person is going to jail in this courtroom unless I get that instrument now,” he told the courtroom’s audience, according to the commission.
“If anybody believes I’m kidding, ask some of the folks that have been here for a while. You are all going.”

My response is, good for him! We lived for tens of thousands of years without needing to have a goddamn phone glued to our heads. If someone in that courtroom couldn’t bear to be without their phone for a few hours, they had no business being in there in the first place.

Explore posts in the same categories: Just For Fun

3 Comments on “Judge Jails entire Courtroom”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I’m actually surprised the phone made it into the courtroom. In my corner of the world, officers screen people before letting them in and make them leave things like phones, pagers, etc., outside.

    You’ve been spiffing up your blog. I like the look of it and it really puts mine to shame. I especially like the Moore/Gore banner on the side. Too bad that pair won’t be on the ballot.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    Thanks for the compliment, Kathy. I made the Moore ad in Photoshop. I’m not good at it, just learning actually. I do think they would make a great White House team though. Really shake things up.


  3. I’ve never owned one. I think I made a call on one several years ago. People who are so dependent and utterly bereft without them make me chuckle.


Leave a Reply

