Pregnancy Rate Rises Among Virgins

religion4.jpg

H/t to Americablog for covering this years Purity Ball in Colorado Springs. This is a formal, father – daughter affair whose purpose is to reassert the father’s role in protecting the virginity of his daughter. (at least until her braces come off) The event, which started in 1998, has spread nation wide and attracted international media attention – don’t ask me why.

During the cult ceremony, father’s will recite a pledge.

“I, (daughter’s name)’s father, choose before God to cover my daughter as her authority and protection in the areas of purity. I will be pure in my own life as a man, husband and father.(sure you will) I will be a man of integrity and accountability as I lead, guide and pray over my daughter and my family as the high priest in my home. This covering will be used by God to influence generations to come.”

Well dang! With all that I bet those good Christian gals will stay virgins right up until their 2nd or 3rd year of marriage!

In March 2006, Byron Weathersbee, a chaplain at BaylorUniversity in Waco, Texas (a school affiliated with the conservative Southern Baptist Convention),conducted a study on the effectiveness of abstinence ed and virginity pledges in Christians.

* 100 percent professed faith in Christ
* 99 percent attended churchchristian_girl051.gif
* 84 percent grew up in church
* 87 percent grew up in a two-parent home
* 62 percent of males had premarital sex
* 65 percent of females had premarital sex
* only 27% managed to stay chaste (probably the liars)

Among the 20 percent of kids that took a virginity pledge, 61 percent of the consistent pledgers and 79 percent of the inconsistent pledgers reported having intercourse before marrying or prior to 2002 interviews.

Well, maybe the problem is the “liberal” influence from the West on Colorado Springs. Lets see how Texas, the bastion of abstinence only sex ed and Bush’s home turf did.

It ranked among the 10 worst states in the nation on almost all factors related to teen pregnancy including:
· Teen birth rate 47th
· Percent change in teen birth rate 44th
· Birth rate for younger teens 48th
· Percent teen births that are repeat births 44th
· Teen births as a percent of all births 40th
· Percent of births to teens receiving late or no prenatal care 44th.

Bush couldn’t run a state and we elected him to run a country. Now we see the results. Whose fault is it anyway?

Explore posts in the same categories: Bush/Cheney, Education, Indecency, religion

3 Comments on “Pregnancy Rate Rises Among Virgins”

  1. Capt Fogg Says:

    There seems to be a solid coefficient of correlation between this kind of religiosity and pederasty, spousal abuse, adultery and worse. The Bible belt has far more than its share of criminal behavior, failed marriages and a host of other things religiosity is supposed to prevent.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Whose fault is it? I’d say it’s the fault of over-zealous parents who make everything taboo and off limits. My kids aren’t perfect, but I talked to them about alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, etc, and explained to them that it was natural to want to experiment. I didn’t forbid them to do those things, but I made it clear they would be responsible for their actions if they got in trouble.

    I never made alcohol off limit at home either. During holiday dinners, I would offer them a small glass of whatever we were drinking. (My grandparents were Italian so we got used to having wine at a young age.)

    Anyway, none of my children smoke cigarettes and only one of them drinks. I think I took the fun and mystery out of it by letting them experiment at home.

  3. boyd mcbeth Says:

    hhmm eney way good greaf kept antil 21


Leave a Reply

