Muslim Widows forced into Prostitution

war1.jpg

blog-r1723197682.jpg

This story did not appear (of course) in any of the MSM that I read each morning. From Al Jazeera.

About 15% of Iraqi widows are forced to turn to prostitution or temporary marriages to survive and to feed their children. Employment for women is nearly non-existent and since the American invasion there are no government services to deal with the issue.

Rana Jalil, a 38 year old mother of four who lost her husband in an explosion last year is such a woman. She begged shop owners, office workers and companies to hire her but was treated with what she calls chauvinistic discrimination. Within weeks of her husband’s death, a doctor diagnosed her children with malnutrition.

Fighting tears, she recalled the desperation which led her to the oldest profession: “In the beginning these were the worst days in my life. My husband was the first man I met and slept with, but I didn’t have another option … my children were starving.”

She left the house in a daze, she recalled, and walked to the nearest market to find someone who would pay her for sex. She said: “I’m a nice-looking woman and it wasn’t difficult to find a client. When we got to the bed I tried to run away … I just couldn’t do it, but he hit and raped me. When he paid me afterwards, it was finished for me.

 

“When I came home with some food I had bought from that money and saw my children screaming of happiness, I discovered that honor is insignificant compared to the hunger of my children.”

Iraqi widows, particularly those who lost husbands during the Iran-Iraq war, were provided with compensation and free education for their children. In some cases, they were provided with free homes. However, since the installation of the new government, none of those benefits are available.

Winning the hearts and minds one destroyed life at a time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Idiocy, Iraq, Politics, Poverty

5 Comments on “Muslim Widows forced into Prostitution”


  1. Despicable. And done by design.

  2. baghdadi manzur Says:

    it is a shame Who is to blame America or the Iraqis .Oil has been captured but the real owners of the oil of their own land are beggars Where ever the American attack giving hope to the people of democracy and a good life it has turned just the opposite .Great Americans the saviour of the world

  3. Ali Says:

    its not good. I have tears in my eyes and sad too. I wish I could help her…

  4. ola Says:

    one thing is certain,this world would come to an end one day and every man will get rewarded for his action, Irazi women should be patient and leave every thing to Allah.

  5. ladyrainicorn1 Says:

    “…honor is insignificant compared to the hunger of my children.” I’m still in tears after reading that. I know all too well exactly what that feels like. I’m so proud of this woman & will continue to pray for God to give all of us widows our strength & health long enough to see our children into adulthood.


Leave a Reply

