The Church kinda, sorta accepts Evolution

science3.jpg

Hat tip to Carpetbaggers Report for this discussion on the Catholic Church and their stand on evolution. Be sure to read the comments. My fav is a quote by Bertrand Russell:

“If I were to suggest that between the Earth and Mars there is a china teapot revolving about the sun in an elliptical orbit, nobody would be able to disprove my assertion provided I were careful to add that the teapot is too small to be revealed even by our most powerful telescopes. But if I were to go on to say that, since my assertion cannot be disproved, it is intolerable presumption on the part of human reason to doubt it, I should rightly be thought to be talking nonsense. If, however, the existence of such a teapot were affirmed in ancient books, taught as the sacred truth every Sunday, and instilled into the minds of children at school, hesitation to believe in its existence would become a mark of eccentricity and entitle the doubter to the attentions of the psychiatrist in an enlightened age or of the Inquisitor in an earlier time.” – Bertrand Russell

I suppose I’m impatient but I wonder how long we will be taking these tiny baby steps towards the ultimate and inevitable admission that Adam and Eve were not the first creatures on the planet, that the earth and life on it did not originate some 5,000 years ago, that our souls don’t go to a hot place in the middle of the earth if we don’t accept God or to a white place in the clouds if we do. For how many future generations will we teach this dribble to our children?

Explore posts in the same categories: religion, Science

6 Comments on “The Church kinda, sorta accepts Evolution”

  1. Mark Says:

    Dangerous thoughts!

    I wonder who dares to debate this?

  2. Kathy Says:

    That was an interesting link. A teacher actually said that God may have infused human beings with souls and they were our first Adam & Eve? I believe anything is possible for God and that God directed evolution is probably closer to the truth, but I can’t believe a teacher actually said that. I wonder if he/she kept their job? I can just imagine the ruckus that would cause today from the religious right.

  3. Serenity Now Says:

    “For how many future generations will we teach this dribble to our children?”

    dribble?

    you mean: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/drivel

  4. expatbrian Says:

    Good catch Serenity, although it could be dribble as in what runs down my leg. The “drivel” is just about as helpful as that.

  5. biologyinstructor Says:

    Being someone that is actually educated in science. You cannot deny evolution. Evolution doesn’t mean we came from apes. Most believe it started with a premordial soup and life diverged. You cannot deny the facts and similarities we have found. Yes, it is a theory, as much in science. A theory in scientific terms is not the same as in our common vernacular. Most people believe in intelligent design. That God designed all of universe and he made man, it is just God did it in a long intricate process that scanned billions of years in our days, which is just a day in his time. (Most people doubt really think that a day in God’s time is the same as ours, that is just pompous) All things are possible and to make fun of evolution, shows you are closed minded and lack true science and Christian education. The Bible just doesn’t explain the complex process of development and creation.

    Remember, with the Christain church, they are always scared of change and intrigrating science. The church and western society were still saying that the Earth was the center of the Universe for 2,000 years after we knew different. That just shows our ignorance.

    I will never understand the Christians that act like evolution is a sin. I guess they are just so uneducated they really have no clue. I guess it goes to show that “ignorance really isn’t bliss”.

    Maybe one day we can realize that Christians and scientists can work together. If you have an open-mind (which you figure Christians would since they are believing in something they have NEVER SEEN!!) that you can see where evolution shows the intelligence and creativity of God.

  6. expatbrian Says:

    biologyinstructor,

    I can see from your post that English is not your first language and perhaps that is why much of it doesn’t make sense to me. You have completely missed the point of my post I think. No where and never have I made fun of evolution or anything of the sort. The only thing I make fun of is Christians and others who have such closed minds (not open as you say) that they refuse to accept the science that, for all practical purposes has disproved the existence of their God. You are right, science has come a long way in 2000 years and still will go further. I get so tired of those who cling to the idea that, simply because science has not yet found the answer or explanation for something, it automatically means that is where God reveals himself. Thats ignorant garbage.

    Lastly, I lack neither a Christian nor a scientific education. I am a sociologist and was raised in the church. Once it became clear that belief in a supreme being was hogwash, I gave it up. If you would read some of my posts, categorized under the science and religion headings, you would see that.


Leave a Reply

