My Annual Income Tax Season Gloat

Yes, its that time of year again. And once again I will sprinkle a little salt into your IRS wound. I received my US tax book recently and also my Singapore tax form (see below). Although I don’t live or work in the US and I don’t owe any federal taxes there, they sent me this 200 page tax encyclopedia to help me file my taxes. LOL. Singapore sent me this postcard to file my taxes.canon-012.jpg

Encyclopedia…postcard, encyclopedia…postcard. Come on, say it a couple of times with me! I won’t mention what my tax liability is but…oh heck, why not. This year it will be less than 1%. Makes me just love tax time.

Your US tax encyclopedia has pages and pages of tax tables each with multiple columns. My tax table is shown below.

on-the-first.jpg

I probably shouldn’t say this given the ever mounting number of scandals, indictments, investigations etc that are going on in the federal government these days, but the tax system in the US is a huge conspiracy. It is designed not only to support the mega-bureaucracy that is the IRS, but to insure that American’s cannot possibly understand the tax system. Most are so intimidated by the complexity of it that they throw up their hands and pay to have an expert do their taxes for them. Then they breathe a sigh of relief when they are told they are getting a refund. They forget about the 20% they have already paid out of their checks throughout the year (free money to the government that earns 0 interest).

Listen closely during this campaign season as each candidate will talk about necessary tax reform. There is no tax reform in the US except to make the rich pay less and the poor pay more. And the encyclopedia just keeps getting bigger and bigger. Good luck America, April 15 is just around the corner. Oh, and don’t forget your state taxes while you’re at it…chortle, chortle……

Explore posts in the same categories: Government, Singapore

4 Comments on “My Annual Income Tax Season Gloat”

  1. Praguetwin Says:

    So do you file in the U.S.? I haven’t in about 6 years now. It will be a bitch if I ever decide to go back. Fat chance.

  2. expatbrian Says:

    Yes, I still file in the US. I’m not clear on how the law works as relates to non-filing from overseas when there is no money owed. I don’t plan to ever live there again either. To expensive and too much bullshit for me.

  3. Libby Says:

    This post just makes me want to leave the US too. You’re so lucky. Of course so am I because my son in law does my taxes now. I always hated this time of year.

  4. Kvatch Says:

    It’s a whole industry designed to sap our productivity and channel money to accountants, tax attorneys, and tax software manufacturers.


Leave a Reply

