Final Word on Income Tax

This is especially for my fellow Americans who still live in America (I don’t). I will try not to laugh or even grin as I write this.

I just did my 2005 taxes. That involved logging on to the governemt tax site, entering my ID, filling in the amount I made and hitting the Submit button. The entire process took about a minute. Took me longer than that to boot up my pc. Two weeks later (yesterday) I received my tax bill for last year. As I had already calculated, it was a whopping 2.3%! (chuckle chuckle) Oops, sorry.

Now, granted, if I was filing as a business it would be more involved. But remembering the nightmare of hundreds of pages of forms, instructions and tables that I used to deal with in the US, this was pure pleasure. Politicians in the US have been talking for years about simplifying the tax system and have not done one damn thing about it. It is insane and out of control. Just another reason I like it right where I am.

SINGAPORE PROGRESS PACKAGE – I thought I would also throw in this. It is a simple plan by which the Singapore government is giving back to the people its surplus for 2005. Read about the progress package. The plan does not apply to me as an expat, but it certainly is a better plan than wasting it on a foreign war somewhere.

Explore posts in the same categories: Singapore

3 Comments on “Final Word on Income Tax”

  1. Left of Center Says:

    2.3%.. sigh, if only things could be so simple here.

  2. Kathyhttp://stonesoupmusings.blogspot.com Says:

    Groan, I don’t even want to talk about how long it took me to do our taxes. What makes me even angrier though is the fact that we have no representation after we pay our taxes. It’s time to stage another tea party in this country!

  3. Mickell Says:

    Singapore is an ally of America. If it was a much bigger country like UK or Australia, it probably would have contributed military troops like them too ;p

    Perhaps only a foreign expat would appreciate Singapore’s simple income tax system, while many Singaporeans grumble and complain against the government even though they are considered one of the best in the world.


Leave a Reply

