Untitled

This is one of the most heartbreaking photographs I have ever seen. I can’t even think of a coherent post to go along with it, just some thoughts that ran through my mind. The US is spending hundreds of billions of dollars to gain some kind of control over the Iraqi political structure and the oil fields. I wonder how much it would cost to perhaps build an irrigation system so these people could grow enough food to survive, But no. There is no return on an investment like that. Maybe if oil is discovered under this barren, hellish wasteland, people like this might have a chance. Probably won’t happen. It is just so sad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Indecency, Poverty

4 Comments on “Untitled”

  1. Mickell Says:

    Tragic indeed. Famines go on in this world not because there’s not enuff food in this world to go around. But because of greedy, incomepetent government and politicians ;(

  2. Venitha Says:

    God, Brian, this photo is shocking. And a disgusting contrast to my current environment – I’m back in the USA for a brief visit and am stunned by how overweight everyone is. I’ve certainly lost my appetite now.

  3. expatbrian Says:

    Yeah, I read that you got to go home at least for a while. Have fun while you’re there. Obesity? In the USA? Shocking!!….lol

    I will just keep plugging away at my laksa, mutton soup and beef noodles.

  4. Mark Says:

    excellent striking photo. thanks for posting it.


Leave a Reply

